2019 Election Results: Handforth Parish Council


Thirteen candidates stood for the seven seats on Handforth Parish Council.

The result are:

Handforth East Ward ( two seats) - Uncontested

  • Cynthia Margaret Samson, Independent*
  • John Michael Smith, Independent*

Handforth South Ward (two seats)

  • Andrew Backhouse, Independent - 239 votes
  • Barry Edward Burkhill, Handforth 'Ratepayers' Association (Independent)* - 316 votes, elected
  • Roger Clive Small, Independent - 228 votes
  • Brian Victor Tolver, Handforth 'Ratepayers' Association (Independent)* - 271 votes, elected

Turnout: 42.60%
Rejected ballots=5

Handforth West Ward (three seats)

  • Aled Brewerton, Independent - 353 votes, elected
  • Chris Fortune, Liberal Democrat - 182 votes
  • Timothy Hardy, Independent - 218 votes
  • Suzanne Elizabeth Moore, Independent - 451 votes, elected
  • Lee Robert Nelson, Independent - 263 votes
  • Jean Thompson, Independent - 369 votes, elected
  • Michael Thompson, Independent* - 294 votes

Turnout:23.92 %
Rejected ballot=20

* Existing Parish Councillor prior to the election on May 2nd 2019.

2019 Local Elections, Handforth Parish Council 2019 Election


Here's what readers have had to say so far. Why not add your thoughts below.

Chris Wigley
Saturday 4th May 2019 at 7:41 pm
Congratulations to all those who have been elected as councillors for Handforth - a parish (and also Ward) that long ago set the trend for being independent.
I was sorry to see in West Ward Mike Thompson lose his seat, he had worked unceasingly for the ward and many of us will remember how he was the first to alert us to the development that is to take place on Sagar Road/Clay Lane a couple of years ago.
It's good to see Jean Thompson, one of the initial intake of councillors, return to the council with her unstinting record or working for residents of Handforth.
Richard Armstead
Saturday 4th May 2019 at 7:57 pm
Great to see Handforth retains it's independence!